Main Article Content
abstract: The evolution of the transportation history of the Commonwealth can be viewed at the confluence of the Susquehanna and Juniata rivers where in 1790 John Clark built a tavern and a ferry to transport travelers across the rivers. While the ferry system has been replaced by the current Clark’s Ferry Bridge, the 1790 wood and stone tavern structure remains as one of the oldest buildings in the town of Duncannon. Archaeological and historical information can be gleaned from this important structure, which retains a vast amount of its 1790–1800 integrity. It stands as a reminder of the days of the packhorse, stagecoach, Conestoga wagon, canal boats, railroads, and automobiles at the entrance to the Juniata Valley.
Pennsylvania History is the official journal of the Pennsylvania Historical Association, and copyright remains with PHA as the publisher of this journal.